Chonburi fc

The club finished second in the 2007 Uzbek League season and made the semi-finals of the 2008 AFC Champions League. In the beginning of August 2008, the club changed its name to Bunyodkor from PFC Kuruvchi to reflect the club’s success on the pitch and its increasing professionalism off the pitch. With its victory in the chonburi fc level of Uzbek football in 2006, the 2007 season was Kuruvchi’s debut in the Uzbek League. Never before had a club moved with such alacrity from the lower reaches of Uzbek competition into the top league.

In December 2007 Mirjalol Kasymov was appointed as head coach of Bunyodkor, replacing Hikmat Irgashev. 2008 was debut year of Bunyodkor in AFC Champions League where they qualified to the semi-final of tournament. On 14 July 2008, the club, then called Kuruvchi, announced through their official website that they had signed Barcelona star Samuel Eto’o on a six-month contract. The story was confirmed by Bakhtiyor Babaev, the club’s sporting director, stating that it was a performance-related contract. Shortly thereafter, Bunyodkor and Barcelona managements announced that the two clubs had reached an agreement to play a friendly in Tashkent and the Uzbek side will be able to train at Camp Nou. As of 31 July 2008, Eto’o’s status had become no clearer, as Bunyodkor was still in the running to obtain the services of the Cameroonian international, but he was also being sought by Milanese powerhouses A.

Andrés Iniesta and Carles Puyol, as well as Arsenal midfielder Cesc Fàbregas. Although unsuccessful in obtaining Eto’o’s services by September 2008, Bunyodkor brought two famous Brazilians to Tashkent: Rivaldo as a midfielder and Zico as manager. Rivaldo signed a contract that he termed “very good for the end of my career” to play for Bunyodkor. Zico left Bunyodkor in January 2009 after he was signed by PFC CSKA Moscow as head coach. On 8 June 2009 Luiz Felipe Scolari was announced as Bunyodkor’s new head coach. On 26 February 2011 Bunyodkor unveiled 11 new players for the 2011 season.

In the 2012 AFC Champions League, the club repeated its 2008 achievements, reaching the semi-final of the tournament. In the semi-final, Bunyodkor lost to Ulsan Hyundai over two legs. Bunyodkor made play-off of AFC Champions League for the 6th successive season in 2013, winning the group stage of tournament. The club renewed its own previous record and record of AFC Champions League history. On 6 June 2014, Sergey Lushan succeeded Mirjalol Kasymov to become the manager of Bunyodkor after Kasymov resigned his post at club in April 2014.

During his time as head coach in club Lushan brought many talents from Bunyodkor academy to main squad. 2014 season club finished only 4th after Nasaf Qarshi. In 2015 AFC Champions League group stage Bunyodkor failed to qualify to play-off for the first time. On 5 May 2017, Sergey Lushan was sacked, with Mirjalol Qosimov being appointed as the club’s new manager the same day. Bunyodkor played its first years at the MHSK Stadium. After the end of the Uzbek League season 2008 it was announced that MHSK stadium would have been closed for longtime reconstruction. Season 2008 was the last season at the MHSK stadium, for 2009 season club moved to 8,460-seater JAR Stadium.

The old MHSK Stadium was completely demolished with plans to build a new and modern 34. The stadium was opened on 28 September 2012 and originally was one of the proposed venues to host the matches of FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2012 in Uzbekistan. The first official football match was played on 26 March 2013. Anvar Gafurov presently holds the team record for number of matches played for the club. Bunyodkor’s all-time top goalscorers in all competitions is Anvar Soliev with 65 goals, 46 of them in league matches, 2nd is Rivaldo with 43 goals followed by Viktor Karpenko with 39 goals.

José Luis Villanueva scored 28 goals during his two seasons at Bunyodkor. The current main shirt sponsor of Bunyodkor is the state natural gas transport company “Uztransgaz”. Uztransgaz became largest shareholder of Bunyodkor in March 2011 and head club sponsor. Bunyodkors shirts had been made by manufacturer Nike until 2012.

Since Bunyodkor’s promotion to the Uzbek League matches between club and their other rival from capital, football powerhouse Pakhtakor, considered by supporters of both sides and football journalists as Uzbek capital derby or Toshkent derby. In semi-final 2nd leg match of Uzbekistan Cup on 25 November 2012, Bunyodkor won Pakhtakor with 3:1 for the second time, qualifying to cup final. On 30 June 2013 Bunyodkor played away League match won with 2:0. This defeat was Pakhtakor’s first home match loss in Uzbek League against Bunyodkor.

In the second leg of 2013 League season on 8 August 2013 Bunyodkor faced Pakhtakor at home JAR ground and lost against the Lions with 1:2. The loss was Bunyodkor’s first since 2009 Cup match and first ever in League matches. As of 4 February 2018 Note: Flags indicate national team as defined under FIFA eligibility rules. Players may hold more than one non-FIFA nationality. The following players are listed as reserve players to play in 2015 Uzbek Youth League. They are registered for 2015 Uzbek League and are eligible to play for the first team.

As of 17 August 2015 Note: Flags indicate national team as defined under FIFA eligibility rules. As of match played 25 November 2017. Rekordsieger dieses Wettbewerbs ist der südkoreanische Vertreter Pohang Steelers mit drei Titelgewinnen. Mit insgesamt elf Siegen liegt Südkorea auch im Nationenvergleich vorne. Der Gewinn der Champions League qualifiziert die betreffende Mannschaft als Repräsentant der AFC zur Teilnahme an der FIFA-Klub-Weltmeisterschaft. Die erste Spielzeit des Wettbewerbs fand 1967 unter der Bezeichnung Asian Champion Club Tournament statt. Nachdem der Wettbewerb 1968 nicht stattfand, wurde das Format für die Spielzeit 1969 geändert.

So wurde an einem festen Spielort zunächst in einer Gruppenphase gespielt, ehe es im K. Erstmals fand neben dem Finale auch ein Spiel um den dritten Platz statt. 1972 wurde der Wettbewerb zum zweiten Mal eingestellt. Die Gründe lagen im geringen Interesse der Vereine teilzunehmen. Vereine hatten selten das nötige Geld, um weite Reisen auf sich zu nehmen. Es dauerte 14 Jahre, bis die AFC erneut einen ähnlichen Wettbewerb veranstaltete. Im Herbst 1985 fanden erstmals Qualifikationsspiele zum nun als Asian Club Championship bezeichneten Wettbewerb statt.